St. John's Community Primary School & Nursery

Year 3 2014-15

Year 3 had a wonderful day at Flag Fen

We had the chance to explore different artefacts and objects from the Stone Age to the Iron Age and create our own Bronze Age inspired pottery before listening to Celtic tales in the Round house.


Readathon

IMG_4296

Well done to everyone that participated in the Readathon and thank you for all the money you raised. Class 3 visited the book fayre and choose some very exciting books as you can see. Here are a few of the titles chosen:

  • Whoops! by Suzi Moore
  • Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert
  • That is Not a Good Idea! by Mo Willems
  • The Adventures of he Dish and Sppon by Mini Grey
  • Star Seeker by Thersa Heine and Victor Tavares
  • Billionaire Boy by David Walliams
  • Magic Molly by Holly Webb
  • The Viewer by Shaun Tan and Gary Crew
  • Stone Age Bone Age by Mick Manning and Brita Granstrom
  • Baby Brains Superstar by Simon James
  • Frog and Toad Together by Arnold Lobel
  • British Mammals- A Photographic Guide by Victoria Munson
  • Winter’s Child by Abgela mcAllister
  • The Princess and the Wizard by Julia Donaldson
  • A Tiny Bit Lucy by Tom Gates

KS2 Present Hoodwinked

The children in Years 3, 4 and 5 have been working hard this half term on their Spring production called Hoodwinked. The play tells the story of Robin Hood and his battle against the Sheriff of Nottingham while King Richard is away in the Crusades. The children have got the production ready in a short period of time, they have worked really hard on learning their lines, songs and acting routines.

Massive thanks to Mr Cunliffe and Miss Sewell for their help and support in getting the production ready and to all the parents who have helped with costumes, props and learning lines. I am very proud of all the children and the production, I hope you enjoy the show!

Miss Buck
(Head of Key Stage 2)


Winter Activity Sheet


Duxford Imperial War Museum

Year 3 had a wonderful day at Duxford Imperial War Museum. We learnt all about the Battle of Britain and the different roles that people took on during the war. Here are some of our pictures.


Year 3 Homework 14th November 2014

Useful Animal Websites

Homework this week is around our science focus of animal diets. You need to create an animal fact file about an animal of your choice. Include as much information as you can but the focus is around where the animal lives and what it eats. A useful website to help you is www.nationalgeographic.com.

You will also need to write a sentence for each of your spellings. Make sure you use a variety of adjectives, adverbs and punctuation.

Homework to be in by Wednesday 19th November 2014

Marwell Zoo www.marwell.org.uk/zoo_guide/encyclopaedia.asp?css=1 click on a letter of the alphabet & then choose an animal

Chester Zoo www.chesterzoo.org/ click on Animals link, then choose an animal

London Zoo www.zsl.org/zsl-london-zoo/animals/ click on one of the animals groups down the left hand side of the page

Whipsnade Zoo www.zsl.org/zsl-whipsnade-zoo/meet-the-animals/all/ click on an animal

Bristol Zoo www.bristolzoo.org.uk/learning/animals click on one of the animal groups on the left hand side of the page

Colchester Zoo www.colchester-zoo.com/explore/to-see/animals choose an animal from the list

Paignton Zoo www.paigntonzoo.org.uk/animals click on a letter of the alphabet & then choose an animal

Dublin Zoo www.dublinzoo.ie/9/Animal-Guide.aspx click on an animal group & then choose an animal

National Geographic animals.nationalgeographic.co.uk/animals/?source=G1801&kwid=animal%20info|811696014.


Diwali Sweets

Year 3 had a go at making Diwali sweets. Here is what we did with some pictures to go with it!

Ingredients

1 tin condensed milk
400g grated coconut
Food colourings

Method
1. Mix together the coconut and the condensed milk.
2. Divide the mixture and add the food colouring – one colour for each bit of mixture.
3. Put on a plate, flatten out, and put in the fridge to cool.
4. Once cool, roll into small balls.
5. Sprinkle with icing sugar.


Year 3 Curriculum Evening 2014